## III.—PARLIAMENTARY REPRESENTATION IN CANADA.

## 1.—Dominion Parliament.

The Dominion Parliament is composed of the King, represented by the Governor-General, the Senate and the House of Commons. The Governor-General is appointed by the King in Council. Members of the Senate are appointed for life by the Governor-General in Council and members of the House of Commons are elected by the people. As a result of the working out of the democratic principle, the part played by the King's representative and the Upper Chamber of Parliament in the country's legislation has been, in Canada as in the Mother Country, a steadily decreasing one, the chief responsibilities involved in legislation being assumed by the House of Commons.

## 1.—The Governor-General of Canada.

The Governor-General is appointed by the King as his representative in Canada, usually for a term of five years, with a salary fixed at £10,000 sterling per annum and forming a charge against the consolidated revenue of the country. The Governor-General is bound by the terms of his commission and can only exercise such authority as is expressly entrusted to him. He acts under the advice of his Ministry, which is responsible to Parliament, and, as the acting head of the executive, summons, prorogues and dissolves Parliament and assents to or reserves bills. In the discharge of these and other executive duties, he acts entirely by and with the advice of his Ministry (the Governor-General in Council). In matters of Imperial interest affecting Canada he consults with his ministers and submits their views to the British Government. The royal prerogative of mercy in capital cases, formerly exercised on the Governor-General's own judgment and responsibility, is now exercised pursuant to the advice of the Ministry.

A list of the Governors-General from the time of Confederation, with the dates of their appointment and assumption of office, is given in Table 1.

1.—Governors-Genera	l of	' Canada	, 1867-1926.
---------------------	------	----------	--------------

Names.		Date of Appointment.			Date of Assumption of Office.		
Viscount Monck, G.C.M.G.	June	1,	1867	July	1,	1867	
Lord Lisgar, G.C.M.G	Dec.	29,	1868	Feb.	2,	1869	
The Earl of Dufferin, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G	Мау	22,	1872	June	25,	1872	
The Marquis of Lorne, K.T., G.C.M.G	Oct.	5,	1878	Nov.	25,	1878	
The Marquis of Lansdowne, G.C.M.G	Aug.	18,	1883	Oct.	23,	1883	
Lord Stanley of Preston, G.C.B.	Мау	1,	1888	June	11,	1888	
The Earl of Aberdeen, K.T., G.C.M.G	Мау	22,	1893	Sept.	18,	1893	
The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G	July	30,	1898	Nov.	12,	1898	
The Earl Grey, G.C.M.G	Sept.	26,	1904	Dec.	10,	1904	
Field Marshal H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught, K.G	Mar.	21,	1911	Oot.	13,	1911	
The Duke of Devonshire, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O	Aug.	19,	1916	Nov.	11,	1916	
General the Lord Byng of Vimy, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., M.V.O	Aug.	2,	1921	Aug.	11,	1921	
Lord Willingdon of Ratton, G.C.S.I., G.C.I.E., G.B.E	Aug.	5,	1926	Oct.	2,	1926	